Skip to content

Rise & Shine

November 15, 2011
As my breakfasts during the week usually consist of oatmeal, oatmeal, and more oatmeal, nothing makes me happier than a special weekend breakfast! Therefore, when I received some Land O Lakes eggs to try through the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, I knew exactly what to do: MAKE OMELETS!
 

ready to go

 
Per Foodbuzz, “Land O Lakes Eggs are backed by more than 90 years of experience in delivering premium, quality dairy foods that families can trust. All Land O Lakes Eggs are “eggstraordinary” because they are produced by hens fed a premium vegetarian whole grain diet consisting primarily of whole ground corn and soybean meal, with no added hormones, antibiotics, animal fats or animal by-products. These eggs are gathered at the peak of the hens’ egg-laying cycles, which can make the eggs more delicious. “
 

fillings

all lined up

 
I thought that making an omelet with some fresh veggies & cheese would be the best way to really put these eggs to the test. I used green pepper, mushrooms (sauteed), tomato, mozzerella cheese, and some fresh basil that happened to be in the fridge.  
 

prepped ingredients

 

cracked

 

sizzling mushrooms

 

omelet time

 

trying not to mess up

 
When making eggs, I will usually give up and just make a veggie scramble, but this time I was DETERMINED to make TRUE omelet! My strategy was:
1- chop up vegetables
2- scramble 3 eggs in a bowl
3- pour eggs into a pre-heated pan (sprayed with cooking spray)
4- when it is possible to lift the edge of the egg “disk”  from the pan with a spatula, lift it slightly and tilt the pan so that the raw egg sitting on top of the already cooked egg can drip onto the pan itself.
5- when the egg “disk” is almost cooked, flip it over using a spatula
6- place toppings on one side of the egg “disk”
7- Fold into an omelet using a spatula, and press down lightly with the spatula.
8 – I then flipped the entire omelet one more time for good measure.

overflowing with toppings!

folded up

ready to eat!

Somehow, I made it work! Honestly, I usually purchase the cheapest eggs at the grocery store (guilty at charged). I didn’t expect to notice any sort of difference between the Land O Lakes eggs and my cheap eggs, but I did. They tasted better, they held together better, and they created a much more delicious breakfast! I still have quite a few of these left even after omelets, so it looks like another wonderful breakfast is in my future sometimes soon :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 6:47 pm

    Hi Kelly,
    I was one of the bloggers sending you cookies, and since I never heard from anyone and one of them already mentioned they never received the 3rd batch I’m reaching out to see if any of them arrived safely. If you didn’t get them let me know, I’ll send another batch, I feel so terrible.
    -ace.

  2. January 4, 2012 9:57 am

    YUM. looks so great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

