Skip to content

Going Home!

May 13, 2010

This weekend, I am heading home to celebrate the graduation of the smartest (and most beautiful!) person I know, my sissy! She is graduating from the University of Pennsylvania (not the State School….ahem….the Ivy League, i’m just saying). Although she is younger, she always has been (and continues to be) my idol.

2 Cousins and a sister...guess who is graduating

Sissy has developed an amazing talent making films, and I have a feeling that we are all going to be hearing all about one of her films sweeping Sundance someday (but I won’t hear about it…because i’ll be there….right!?).

Although she’d tell you that these were just school projects, everyone I know can’t get enough of…

(Which features a gaggle of my wonderful cousins)

and…

(Which features my incredibly cool brother, and my new favorite song)

and…

I mean seriously, she captured Reilly’s essence PERFECTLY.

Needless to say, CONGRATS SISSY! I love you!

Perhaps there will be an update on fun Philadelphia occurences in the near future…

In the meantime, in honor of sissy, who makes the best classy drinks…A Recipe from “MixShakeStir” by Danny Meyer. This book was a gift from my sister, and includes drink recipes (and wonderful snack recipes!) from Danny Meyer’s NY Restaurants. This one is a welcome departure from my usual gin & tonic:

The Madison Parksider

“This Signature Cocktail at Eleven Madison Park was created to be great with gin, but it’s equally as enjoyable as a nonalchoholic refresher”

Ingredients: Ice, 6 cucumber segments cut into 1-inch cubes (about 1/2 cup), 1/2 lime, 1.5 oz. gin, 3/4 oz simple syrup, 4 oz soda water

Fill a Collins glass with ice. Muddle the cucumber segments in a cocktail shaker. Squeeze the juice from the lime half. Add ice to the shaker and then the gin and simple syrup and shake vigorously. Strain into the glass, top with the soda water, and serve.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 3:57 am

    Have so much fun! Congrats to your sister 🙂

Leave a Reply

