Skip to content

Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova

June 14, 2010

This weekend, I ran into a dessert dilemma. I wanted to make something light, not too heavy, but was hitting a mindblock. My mind automatically turned towards something with fruit, but I wanted to avoid a cobbler or anything too butter-laden. I paged through my Food Network Magazine, when I found it: Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova.

See, I totally needed that white bowl!

If you haven’t had a pavlova before, I shouldn’t mislead you into thinking that by being “light” this falls into a “healthy” category. I had pavlova for the first time during my week  in an Italian Villa, which is a whole other story, considering the most Italian thing about the dessert was the fresh fruit picked from the Villa’s grounds.

Nigella Lawson’s recipe takes pavlova into a new territory, as pavlova is usually made with a plain meringue base. Adding chocolate makes the center moist and rich, as opposed to a more crunchy middle.

a delicious dessert

 This dessert can be quite unpredictable and messy, and as such, i’d suggest putting the pieces together right before you are ready to serve. Even though it’s not perfect looking, I think that the combination of the chocolate meringue, fresh whipped cream, and bright raspberries looks quite beautiful all stacked on top of eachother.

ALMOST too nice to eat

You can find Nigella’s original recipe here, but if you are looking for conversions from metric, here is a translation here.

Leave a Reply

