Skip to content

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oreo Cake (Whoa)

June 28, 2010

Yum!

For 2 months, I have been working with a team of all guys (5 men + me, at a very small table). Luckily, the partner on the job is a woman (and an awesome one at that), but she is only on site with us every once & awhile. Therefore, day in and day out, I sit and listen to sports talk, guy humor, and other topics that I won’t dare to reprint.

Soon to be ganache

A few weeks ago, one thing led to another, and then next thing I know said guys have planned a McDonald’s cheeseburger eating contest to take place during lunch (terrible idea). I stated my intention to refrain from competition IMMEDIATELY, but offered to make a cake for the winner. More specifically, I volunteered to make the winner’s “dream cake”, whatever that may be. When talk of potato chips and french fries combined with baked goods started circulating around the table, I almost rescinded my offer, but I was reminded of my promise several times and couldn’t back down.

The winner decided on a Chocolate Peanut Butter Oreo Cake (phew!), which thankfully isn’t the scariest of combinations! I have been dreaming of the perfect combination of these ingredients (he requested something very rich & chocolately), and went about scouring the web.

Here is what I came up with:

Smitten Kitchen’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake for the cake itself. The recipe calls for 3 8″ pans, but I used 2 9″ pans, and used the rest of the batter to make a few cupcakes. This cake is rich and chocolately, just what I was looking for!

Mini cupcakes

More cupcakes

Ina Garten’s Peanut Butter Icing to ice the entire outside of the cake. I debated using chocolate icing on the outside of the cake, but I didn’t want to cop out and only include peanut butter as a filling.

The pioneer woman’s Chocolate Ganache as the filling. I thought that this would make the cake a bit more decadent (really necessary?), and go well with the oreos.

As far as the oreos go, I decided to crumble oreos on top of the cake as decoration. Let’s hope that the winner is a happy camper!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oreo Cake

Delicious!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 6:05 pm

    Oh my! I’ve had Ina Garten’s peanut butter frosting before and LOVED it. This whole thing looks absolutely delightful!!! Probably not exactly what a winner of a cheeseburger-eating contest should eat, hehe. But I’m definitely adding this to my arsenal of baked goods. It looks amazing!!

Trackbacks

  1. Popularity Contest « Simply Kelly Anne
  2. Happy Birthday! « Simply Kelly Anne

Leave a Reply

