Skip to content

I have been…

July 26, 2010

Watching…

The Kids Are All Right

So. Good. Seriously, drop everything and go see this right now. I treated myself to a little movie night at my favorite theatre last weekend, and was darn glad that I chose this little gem.

Making…

Homemade Nutri-Grain Bars

The idea from these came from Jenna of Eat Live Run. As soon as I saw the recipe, I knew that they’d be the perfect snack to bring on the sailing trip that took place this past weekend (i’ll get back to that later). They were delicious, and one was enough to keep me satisfied until lunch. Yum! I’m with Jenna, despite the butter, I am considering these wholesome as they are made with simple ingredients, and were perfect for an outdoor adventure.

Doing…

The Bar Method

Guys, I have an addiction. I have done The Bar Method on and off for the past 2 years, but lately I have been on a major kick. I’m really trying to focus on my form, and increasing my pain tolerance. During the day, I sometimes crave a hang on the “stall bar”, and look forward to my next class. I am trying to be more well-rounded in my exercise, but right now, I just can’t get enough of the Bar Method!

Dreaming…

Sea Isle City, NJ

I am leaving Chicago on Friday morning to go back to Philadelphia for a cousin’s wedding, followed by an immediate departure to the Jersey Shore (literally, we’ll leave the after-party at 2:00 am and drive straight to the beach). This isn’t your MTV version of the Jersey Shore, so don’t get any ideas! My whole family will be there (again, I mean this literally, in that basically every extended cousin or family member I have will be there the same week, in different houses of course). I’ll even be meeting 2 new cousins who were born between being home in May and now. My head is already there, so hopefully the work-week flies by so that my body can get there too!

Wanting…

Now that I have the shoes, I am wanting the perfect pair of earrings to complete my look for the wedding. I am thinking that a Macy’s run during lunch today may be in order…time is ticking!

Feeling…

So relaxed and content. This past weekend, I took Friday off work for a brand new adventure. I joined the boyfriend and his parents on a sailing trip from Chicago, IL to Michigan City, IN.

Ok, so we both look a little ridiculous in this pic, but you get the idea.

Prior to this trip, I had never been on a sailboat for more than a few hours at a time, so I was really looking forward to spending the better part of the weekend on the water. The trip from Chicago to Michigan City usually takes around 6 hours, but given Friday’s weather, it took us 5. I am a pretty darn adventurous person, but i’m not going to lie, losing sight of land for a while in pretty heavy waves made me a bit queasy. We arrived in Michigan City, and a few hours later, the storms came! I have decided that nothing can compare to sleeping on a (docked!) boat during a storm. Feeling the boat rock, and hearing the storms outside was so very soothing. When the storms passed on Saturday, it was beach time, and then a bike ride to the outlets for shopping and ice cream. As Sunday’s forecast was calling for intense winds, and high waves, everyone began to prepare for a night sail back to Chicago. However, more storms sprung up, and thankfully we didn’t head back, because there were thunderstorms out on the lake all night long.  Monday morning’s weather was beautiful, but lake was still churning from crazy winds the night before, so we packed up our things and jumped on the next train to Chicago. Having a job really cramps my style!  The boyfriend’s parents are making the trip back today, and it looks like they will have gorgeous weather for it! Overall, i’m already looking forward to my next chance to take a trip like that, it was a blast!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

