Skip to content

SPQR

August 15, 2010
On Friday evening, after a crazy work week, I was able to meet up with Lindsay for a wonderful (and delicious!) night in the city. It was so nice to see a familiar face, and to get away from the Union Square tourist-laden area for awhile. Lindsay had just arrived back in San Francisco from Hawaii on a red-eye flight that morning, yet still managed to make reservations at a perfect restaurant, and give me a lovely tour of Pacific Heights/the Marina District. Amazing!

The restaurant of choice was SPQR, whose cuisine is described from the website as “sophisticated, yet soulful, Italian cuisine using the best local ingredients, traditional and modern cooking techniques delivered in a relaxed and fun atmosphere”. The dining room was small & intimate, and the menu unique & exciting.

I started with stuffed summer squash, which was light and tender, perfect for summertime.

Stuffed Summer Squash

The star of the evening for me was my main course, Orzotto with a nasturtium pesto, potato skins, sopressata & smoked goat cheese. The orzotto was similar to a risotto, with barley in place of the rice. The nasturium pesto was zesty, and a fun change from basil pesto. The potato skins and sopressata made the dish incredibly decadent and rich!

Orzotto & Nasturium Pesto

 After dinner, Lindsay & I went for a walk through Pacific Heights and the Marina District. The area reminded me a lot of my own neighborhood, Lincoln Park in Chicago, aside from the lovely pastel colored buildings and California vibe. We even caught a band rehearsing in a garage, a real “garage band”! Sadly, I forgot to get a picture with Lindsay. Next time!

Just a little evening walk

lovely evening

Palace of Fine Arts

Having a nice evening like this Friday makes me so happy to have joined this little blogging world. Blog reading alone has brought a whole other amazing dimension into my life. On top of that, meeting the people who have inspired me in so many ways and forging new relationships is truly exciting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 8:41 am

    Your photos turned out great! I love the one of you on Fillmore Street. SPQR was so fun! I can’t wait for you to come back to San Francisco for the Foodbuzz Festival in November…

Leave a Reply

