Skip to content

A little Italian…

August 22, 2010

When the kind folks at Buitoni offered Foodbuzz Featured Publishers the opportunity to try one of their Riserva pastas, I definitely didn’t hestitate to respond. I am pasta girl through and through. I’ll admit that I was a bit skeptical, considering I have never been into getting my pasta from the refrigerated section of the grocery store, nor am I a fan of thaw-and-eat type meals.

The one thing that I did notice was that the Buitoni Riserva pastas (as compared to other Buitoni raviolis in the same aisle) had a much friendlier ingredient list. I chose the Wild Mushroom Agnolotti, and I was very suprised to find that the list of ingredients seemed to resemble what I would need to recreate this dish in my own kitchen. It passed the pronunciation test.

I served the pasta with a plain red tomato sauce. I also chopped up two large stalks of broccoli, covered in olive oil & sea salt, and placed on a cookie sheet in the broiler for 10 minutes. I decided to avoid preparing a more exciting sauce for the pasta, as I wanted to time exactly how long it would take me to get dinner on the table. A product like this would be more of a convenience item for me, and if dinner involves “convenience items”, you can bet that the sauce will be convenient as well. Dinner took 20 minutes in total, but most of that was boiling the water. Especially on a day that was spent piling my entire apartment into boxes, a quick dinner was most welcome! One package of the pasta looked a little tiny, but in my opinion, it easily fed two people.

Boyfriend stamp of approval

Thanks for dinner Buitoni!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

