Skip to content

Book Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

August 25, 2010

So. Good.

I started reading this gem at the suggestion of my very dear friend MK. This book was so lovely and wonderful that I don’t even know where to begin. First of all, the only review that I read before picking up this book stated that it would be best enjoyed in front of a fire place, in a cozy chair, aka- in your very best snuggly reading spot. I started reading this book in the cabin of a sailboat, in a warm cozy bed, during the craziest storm of the summer. Can you say PERFECT?

When the book ended, I truly wanted each of the characters to be one of my FRIENDS. Don’t you love when books do that? I want to be a member of the Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society, and don’t you dare tell me that I can’t. This is the same thing that happened when I read the Harry Potter series, but that is a story for another day.

When MK suggested that I add this book to my reading list, she also mentioned wanting to take a trip to the Channel Islands someday. I sincerely hope that she wasn’t kidding, because now I MUST get there ASAP!

When you have finished reading the book, please make sure to read the authors’ story as well. It is almost as heartwarming & magical as the story itself.

I give it 5 stars, go read this right away!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

