Skip to content

DC Cupcakes

September 13, 2010
Georgetown, you are adorable. I have been to Washington D.C. approximately 1,000 times, but somehow have never managed to take a walk around this lovely little area.
Have you guys seen the new show on T.L.C. D.C. Cupcakes? It’s a reality show revolving around the sisters who founded Georgetown Cupcake, supposedly the girls who brought the couture cupcake craze to the D.C. Area. Since their flagship store is a few blocks from my hotel, I made it my goal to seek out a sweet treat when I arrived tonight.

Storefront

 I only had to wait about a half hour, which according to the others in line, is shorter than they have ever seen!

Georgetown Cupcakes

 There is even a girl controlling the door, letting in a few people at a time. Intense!

finally inside the door!

the selection

yum

 Perhaps the most exciting (and unexpected) part of the visit was that the people filmed for the show ACTUALLY WORK IN THE STORE. I have a major problem with being “starstruck”, even when the people i’m seeing aren’t “stars” per se. This won’t mean anything to you unless you have seen the show, but Andres walked right in the door in front of me, and back into the kitchen to mix up some treats. “Mommy” also could be seen walking around in the back. I totally freaked, and couldn’t even bring myself to take pictures. Maybe no one else has seen the show, as I seemed to be the only person in line going crazy over the people behind the counter.

At this point, I honestly wasn’t expecting much from the cupcakes. I wanted to visit mainly because of the show, and figured that it was worth going for the novelty.

I was very wrong. These cupcakes are REALLY good. I tasted the Chocolate Coconut, and Red Velvet, although there was a Carmel Apple flavor that looked delicious, and was very hard to pass up. The Chocolate Coconut was probably my favorite of the two. The cream cheese frosting on both the cupcakes was pretty amazing, light and fluffy, but still incredibly rich.

Chocolate Coconut

Red Velvet

I’m looking forward to exploring more of the Georgetown area this week. As most of my business trips have been by myself, I am relieved to be working on the East Coast, because my sister will be able to come down and spend some time in D.C. while i’m here! Here’s to a great start to the week!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Nancy permalink
    September 14, 2010 12:19 am

    Oh they look heavenly….hmmmmm, will a chocolate coconut or red velvet make the trek up here this weekend???

  2. September 21, 2010 3:22 am

    I love that show…and cupcakes. My ex girlfriend actually had a cupcake tattoo.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Birthday! « Simply Kelly Anne

Leave a Reply

