Skip to content

Fast White-Bean Stew

October 1, 2010

Once upon a time, this was a food blog. A place where I intended to share recipes and cooking adventures. It’s not that I haven’t been cooking. Believe me, you can tell by the pages and pages of magazines & cookbooks that are stuck together with remnants of sugar & spice that I have definitely been in the kitchen. I think that sometimes my stomach is just too anxious to remember that my poor little camera is sitting there, waiting for some of the action.

This recipe was definitely worth sharing. For my birthday, my lovely aunt gave me a cookbook/magazine called “Gourmet Quick Kitchen”. It is divine, with pages and pages of beautiful pictures and recipes, all of which are inventive & fresh, while still “quick”. As soon as I saw the picture of the “fast white-bean stew” on a chilly fall meal-planning morning, I knew that I had to factor it in to my menu this week. It was perfect, and incredibly flavorful, which was fantastic considering the short list of ingredients. Without a doubt, this will be a new weeknight favorite of mine.

cold night, hot soup

Here is the recipe:

FAST WHITE-BEAN STEW

Serves 4

Ingredients: 2 large garlic cloves (chopped), 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 1 (14-15 oz) can of stewed tomatoes, 1 & 3/4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth, 2 (19 oz) cans cannellini beans (rinsed & drained), 1 (1/2 lb) piece of baked ham (1/2 inch to 3/4 inch thick) cut into 1/2 inch chunks, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1 (5 oz) bag of baby romaine or baby arugula

1- Cook garlic in 1/4 cup olive oil in a 4 to 5 quart heavy pot over moderately high heat, stirring, until golden, 1 to 2 minutes

2- Coarsely cut up tomatoes in can with kitchen shears, then add (with juice) to garlic in oil. Stir in broth, beans, ham, and pepper and bring to a boil

3- Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, 5 minutes. Stir in greens and cook until wilted, 3 minutes for romaine & 1 minute for arugula.

SO EASY! THANKS TO MY WONDERFUL AUNT!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

