Skip to content

Spoiler Alert

October 13, 2010
Spoiler Alert!!! If you know me, and you’re wondering what i’ll be gifting at Christmas this year, you might want to stop reading!

so very simple

Looking for a birthday gift for the boyfriend’s sister, I came across Petit Elephant’s magical toffee recipe. The boyfriend’s sister LOVES to bake, so I thought that some homemade toffee would be the perfect addition to cookies, cakes, and even hot chocolate & ice cream! I attempted to take pictures through the process, but as I very quickly realized, making toffee requires CLOSE attention. No time for camera phones! Therefore, I suggest you look to Petit Elephant (the pro) for the recipe. Her picture instructions were right on, and I was able to make the perfect treat by sight, without a candy thermometer.

scored toffee, ready to dry and be cracked

cute little gift

tied with a bow

My mind is already spinning with ideas for how to use this around Christmas-time. Adding nuts before allowing it to try and dipping the finished product in chocolate? Hot chocolate with toffee sprinkles? fantastic blondies? Endless possibilites!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 1:48 am

    That looks amazing. I hope you don’t mind if I steal your idea 🙂

  2. October 13, 2010 4:31 pm

    I love homemade toffee and I also LOVE that you’re totally up on your Christmas gifting 🙂 I know I SHOULD be making holiday treats for the blog, but I have such a hard time getting in the spirit ahead of time. This looks perfect though!

  3. Aunt Nancy permalink
    October 14, 2010 2:18 am

    Looks yummy. Even tho I’m not a big toffee fan (I always gave away my Heath bars at Halloween), I think I would give this a try. Is that Madagascar vanilla and Land O Lakes butter I see in the pix? Can’t go wrong with those fine ingredients.

Leave a Reply

