Skip to content

A Special Halloween Treat

October 29, 2010

A Halloween Tradition!

Growing up, one of my favorite Halloween traditions was driving to my grandmother’s house (decked from head to toe in my Halloween costume) to trick-or-treat, and have my special outfit admired by my grandmother & aunts. My grandmother has approximately 1,000 grandchildren (give or take a few), and her table would be COVERED with her infamous brown-bag Halloween treats. Every year, without fail, there was a brown bag with my name on it sitting with the 1,000 other bags, filled to the brim with candy.  This was always the BEST head start on trick-or-treating. A bag full of candy before even beginning to circle the neighborhood!

********************************************

I shouldn’t speak about this tradition as though it happened in the past, as it has continued well into my adult years! My grandmother has never missed a year. Each Halloween, through college, and now my years in Chicago, my grandmother has managed to send me a wonderful brown bag. The boyfriend is even included too! My grandmother is quite hilarious, as you’ll notice on the bag above, under Andrew’s name where it says “Larry”. She is always able to remember that he is a pilot, as she loves airplanes, but for some reason the name Larry sticks better than Andrew 🙂 Well, I think that Larry suits him just fine!

************************************************

And as for the Almond Joys, I have a feeling that they were added to the package by my Aunt, who knows about my crazy obsession with coconut 🙂 Thanks!!!

looking forward to a weekend of tricks & treats!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Nancy permalink
    October 29, 2010 7:25 pm

    Enjoy Kelly!! XOPT! Didja notice MomMom put your names on each of the pumpkins on the card. She’s a hoot.

  2. October 31, 2010 3:24 am

    This brings back plenty of wonderful Halloween memories when my grandma did the same. Except there were only 4 of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

