Skip to content

Fun with Fractions

November 16, 2010
I was incredibly nervous about working with fresh dough in order to make homemade cinnamon rolls for next weekend. As it turned out, I needed to be more nervous about multiplying & dividing fractions! You see, we wanted to make the Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls (her recipe makes 40-50), but in a half batch, a la  We Are Not Martha. At the grocery store, we had second thoughts about cutting the recipe in half, but still didn’t want to make the full 40-50. Therefore, we decided to “3/4” the full recipe, or in our case, we used We Are Not Martha’s conversions, just adding half. I’m not going to lie, this got a little tricky, and left us standing in the aisle at Jewel debating multiplying fractions by their reciprocals, and common denominators.

pre-rise

 We decided ahead of time that we’d assemble the cinnamon rolls fully, and then freeze them immediately, before they rise a final time. On Sunday, we’ll pull out a few trays to thaw and allow them to rise for 20 minutes before popping them in the oven. Just to be sure that everything went OK (and come on, I NEEDED to taste this legendary recipe!), we decided to let one pan rise as a test, and baked it at 375 for 30 minutes.

slicing away

 

swirly goodness

 

test pan...success!

 Here’s where things got VERY tricky, and our mental math failed us! THE ICING! We needed to 3/4 the icing recipe, and then take 1/6 of that to make the icing for only one tray. I think that I got a little lazy mixing this as soon as I realized that i’d need .25 of an eighth cup of this, and 4.3 ounces of that! I don’t think that this mattered so much, as these cinnamon rolls are basically heaven. You could pour ANYTHING on top, and i’d probaby still eat them. I was very happy that we decided to go ahead and bake some last night, it made for the perfect Sunday treat!

stocking up

Now the freezer is stocked, and we are one step closer to a wonderful brunch! I’m glad that we decided to get these made, they were time consuming, but totally worth it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 3:50 am

    They look gorgeous. Can’t wait to hear how they turned out!

  2. November 16, 2010 4:54 pm

    Yay!!! I love that your freezer is all stocked up! And omg trust me, I have a hard enough time doing the math for cutting recipes and half… so I can’t even imagine doing 3/4 of it. Awesome job!

    • November 16, 2010 7:13 pm

      Thanks 🙂 Your pictures were incredibly helpful through the process! I made my accomplice scroll through your post while my hands were covered in dough to make sure that things looked the way they should!

Leave a Reply

