Skip to content

Book Review: Reading Lolita In Tehran

December 2, 2010

"Reading Lolita in Tehran" by Azar Nafisi

Do you guys remember chain letters? Not chain e-mails, i’m talking REAL chain mail, the kind that is delivered by the postal service. I used to eat these pieces of mail and their many promises right up. I’d send them on, and wait (without luck) for the influx of stickers, money, or recipes that was supposed to follow. They never worked, but it always sounded good in theory. Well, last year I received a chain letter in the mail, and in an instant forgot any failed chain letters from my past. This letter promised that if I were to send a favorite book that I wanted to pass on to the person’s name listed in the letter, then I would receive numerous books in the mail from people all over the country.

Well, I only received one book, but I have to say, this book made it worth the hassle of shipping one of my own books off to a mysterious person across the country. Books like this one make me realize how very little I remember from history class, and how very little my history classes touched on events that happened in more recent times (aka, the 70s, 80s, & 90s). Reading this book, it was so hard to fathom living as the author did, in a country where you not only were prevented from speaking or living freely, but you also had to fear for you life itself. This book was fantastic and eye-opening, and I can’t wait to dive into the suggested reading list that the author included in the back of the book.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

