Skip to content

Book Review: A Mercy

January 4, 2011

A Mercy, by Toni Morrison

As I mentioned before, I am completely in love with the idea of the One Book, One Chicago program. A Mercy by Toni Morrison was selected as the Fall 2010 book, but I missed the memo and ended up reading it this December instead. To be quite honest, I am not sure that I would have attended any of the events around this book if I had read it in time. I just don’t think that it was really my cup of tea. I had a pretty hard time understanding a lot of the language, which left me having to re-read whole chapters just to figure out who was speaking, or what was going on. I think that maybe i’ll re-read the whole book sometime in the future, so that I concentrate more on the significance of the story than the plot itself. Oh well, you can’t love them all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

