Skip to content

Book Review: The Happiness Project

January 15, 2011

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

I started reading “The Happiness Project” back in April, and came within 2 chapters of finishing, when I co-worker was looking for a great book to read on her vacation to Mexico. I told her about “The Happiness Project”, and she seemed very excited about it, so I decided that i’d hold off on finishing the book and lend it to her for her trip. I picked the book up again over the past couple of weeks, but decided to start from the beginning again instead of just finishing those last 2 chapters (it’s worth it).

The authot, Gretchen Rubin, realizes that she is letting her life pass by too quickly without savoring the small joys that she encounters each and every day. Realizing that she is not going to leave her husband & children to go travel the world or do something else crazy to shake herself out of a rut, she decides to embark on a “Happiness Project” to enjoy the fantastic life that she already has.

I think that I definitely identifed with the way that Gretchen Rubin formulates her project. She goes about finding happiness through concrete resolutions, planning, research, and organization. Many people might find themselves finding more unhappiness than happiness from such a methodical approach, but just reading this book made me happy thinking about all of the charts & plans that I could make 🙂

Overall, I really enjoyed this book (enough to read it twice!), and look forward to incorporating many of her  ideas into my own everday life!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

