Skip to content

Be My Valentine

March 3, 2011
The marvelous Lindsay has outdone herself, yet again! A package of homemade Valentines treats arrived on my doorstep, and they couldn’t have come at a better time. They were a taste of home during a super intense work week, and even satisfied my constantly nagging sweet tooth! I included her recipe below, so you must make these for yourself. On a holiday that is known for its sweet treats, they are a wholesome, welcome departure!

Adorable

delicious

Just look at those adorable details! Too beautiful to unwrap (but not really, because I did, and they were delicious).

a recipe to be saved

flowers from the beau

Valentine’s Day Love Bars (from the lovely Lindsay!)

Ingredients
1.  1 c. honey
2.  2 tsp. vanilla extract
3.  1/4 tsp. salt
4.  2 T. sugar
5.  1/4 c. peanut butter
6.  1.5 c. rolled oats
7.  1/2 c. oat bran
8.  1/2 c. dark chocolate chips
9.  1/2 c. coconut
10.  1/2 c. golden flax seeds
11.  3/4 c. pecans
12.  3/4 c. dried cranberries

Combine honey through PB in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally (do not burn)  Cook for about 4 minutes.  Pour mixture over dry ingredients (excluding chocolate).  Toss and let sit while you grease a baking dish.  Add chocolate. Cool for 30 minutes and slice.  Yields 12.

*************

On another note, my amazing sister gave me a Christmas present that helped me get all dolled up for a Valentine’s date! She gave me a package from Gilt for a “blowdry boot-camp” including a manicure, blow-out, makeup, & champagne at Siren Salon. Makeup is something that is not my strong suit ( I always feel like I am wearing too much!), so it was nice to have someone else show me what to do. Results below:

playing dress up!

dolled up

Although this whole update is a bit overdue, it was a fabulous February 14th!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 4:21 am

    Yay! My recipe reappears 🙂

    By the way… you look ravishing (!!!) in the pics. I’m totally with you on make up. I don’t even own any. Way too complicated! The salon did a great job!

Leave a Reply

