Skip to content

Shamrock Shuffle 2011

April 19, 2011

via RedEyeChicago.com

 The 2011 Shamrock Shuffle was held on Sunday, April 10th, on what ended up being an unusally HOT day! After running in cold weather (and frequently snow) for so long, if was actually a little too warm for my current tastes.

It look me longer to run the race than I had hoped, and my final time ended up being 47 min. 15 seconds. 5 miles has been a comfortable distance for me for awhile now, but for some reason, I just wasn’t feeling it that day. I started feeling sick around mile 3, and from that point on, I just wanted to stop running!

Oh well, I can’t dwell on my performance as I have signed up for a few more races that are going to require some focus & training over the next few months!

I’m registered to run 2 half marathons:

13.1 Chicago on June 4th

The Chicago Half Marathon on September 11th

and i’m putting my name in the lottery for a FULL marathon:

The Nike Women’s Marathon on October 16th (in San Francisco!)

There are so many fun races going on in Chicago during the summer, but in the effort to save money, and keep myself running longer distances, i’m going to avoid signing up for anything less than an 8K. Let’s see if I can actually restrain myself!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 5:48 am

    I reallllly hope you get into Nike!

    Sad to miss the Shamrock Shuffle this year, but I have plenty of awful memories of running in the ice pellets and snow last year on the way home from Dublin.

Leave a Reply

