Skip to content

Book Review: Onward

July 29, 2011

Onward by Howard Shultz

My Junior year in college, I had the opportunity to have dinner with Howard Shultz before his speaking engagement my University. I sat at a table with the Founder & CEO of the Starbucks that we all know today and about 6 other people. I will now recap what I remember from this amazing evening…

[blank stare]

Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I remember him telling me that we all looked very young to be in college, and that, my friends, is the sum of it. My self-absorbed college self was probably thinking a PLETHORA of self-absorbed things that left no room to retain any of the words spoken by this brilliant & inspiring man.

Very few things make me want to kick myself more than my (lack of) memories of this night. This book left me wanting to kick myself a few more times.

You see, this book provides insight into what was happening behind the scenes at Starbucks during incredibly turbulent economic times. Where does a certain dinner at the University of Notre Dame fall? Smack dab in the heart of the events discussed in the book. Boo self-absorbed-college-Kelly.

Anyways, all moping aside, I found the book’s tagline to describe the book dead-on. “How Starbucks Fought for Its Life without Losing Its Soul”. The story told in this book is truly inspiring, and is a little reminder to us all that there are some companies out there that still CARE!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2012 10:25 pm

    Reading this book right now and can not put it down! Still in my PJ’s today, happily flipping through it. I remembered this blog post of yours, so tracked it down to leave a message.

Leave a Reply

