Skip to content

The Dress

September 8, 2011
This past weekend, my mom & sister ventured to Chicago for 2 days of intensive wedding dress shopping. I scheduled back-to-back appointments for Saturday (with several little breaks of course) in downtown Chicago starting at 11:00 am, and ending at 7:30 pm. It was supposed to be a VERY full day!
 
Despite a full schedule on Saturday, I still wanted to venture into the suburbs on Sunday for a few more wedding dress destinations, or really just one: Priscilla of Boston. I had fallen in love with so many of their dresses online, and I knew that I needed to visit the showroom to try them on. Try as I may, I just couldn’t get through to the store. Lo and behold, it all made sense on Wednesday, when I discovered that they were going out of business 😦 This news made me incredibly sad, as I really had my eye on many of their dresses!
 
I visited one bridal salon by myself on Friday (they were closing for the holiday weekend), and *thought* that I had found the dress for me! I tried on 3 dresses in this salon, and told my sister that we’d visit their other showroom in New York over Thanksgiving, so that I could get her opinion, as well as my Mom’s. Besides, there was still a full weekend of shopping ahead, and I thought that if nothing else, i’d find some close comparisons.
 
On Saturday morning, at 7:30am, I checked my phone and saw an email from Priscilla of Boston in Oakbrook announcing their Grand Finale Sale, starting THAT MORNING. We jumped in the car (stopping only at the Farmers’ Market for some sustenance), arriving 5 minutes before the store’s opening, expecting to find a full parking lot & a long line…
 
but we were tickled pink to find desolate store grounds, and a store full of highly discounted samples just waiting for us to explore 🙂

ready to SHOP

I may just be the luckiest girl in the world, because my sister spotted *THE* dress, in a reasonable size, hanging on the rack. When brainstorming wedding dress ideas, my sister had forwarded me pictures of this EXACT dress, as it had all of the features that I was looking for. I thought that it would just serve as my model to show salespeople at my numerous appointments (it was significantly over my budget), but here it was at the sale, now in my price range!
 
It didn’t take much convincing, and after a few more try-ons, the decision was easy. I bought my dress!
 
On the way out, we even spotted the perfect mother of the bride dress on one of the manequins. We stripped down the manequin, my mom tried it on, and it was perfect. 2 dresses down!
Mission Accomplished

By11 am, we had accomplished MORE than I thought we would accomplish during the whole weekend! That left time for browsing china patterns, high tea at the Drake, sailing, and even some engagement pictures, SUCH a wonderful holiday weekend!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 12:04 pm

    we shopped for my sister at priscilla of boston and we were all SO sad to hear it was going out of business 😦 but so glad it worked out for you. they’re dresses are stunning!

  2. September 19, 2011 2:43 am

    What LUCK! Sounds like a great weekend for all. Definitely a day you will tell your daughters about in about 30 years from now… when they are eyeing the white dresses 🙂

  3. May 15, 2012 11:14 pm

    i can’t believe they are going out of business! POB is a long time standard in bridal…but anyway, i’m not their CEO. SO. to answer your question, mine is also ivory. you can see better pictures of it on my pinterest board “our wedding” (the link is where you left me the comment). i would have loved it in either but in the end i chose ivory, i felt like it would look better with my coloring. the dress is phenomenal and you are so lucky to have scored it on sale!

Leave a Reply

