Skip to content

Some Favorite Things

September 21, 2011
The following is a hodepodge listing of what i’m seriously loving right now:
 
1- We Are Not Martha’s Quinoa & Black Bean Salad

photo via We Are Not Martha

Recipe here.. I have been making this very religiously on Sundays and bringing a bowl to work for lunch each day. It’s OH so good, and I have found myself quite addicted. It’s refreshing, filling, and HEALTHY! Also – I can’t forget that it’s a pinch to throw together. 

2- Pimm’s Cup

photo via myrecipes.com

 Recipe here.I am not a big drinker, but when I do have a cocktail, I love my gin. Maybe i’m a bit out of the loop, but I had NO clue that Pimm’s No. 1 is gin based! Well, I discovered this fact a few weeks ago, and now i’m obsessed (unfortunately too late, as it’s considered a summer drink). I’ve made a mental note to find a way to make this a signature drink at our wedding in some way, shape, or form.  

3- My Erin Condren Wedding Planner

photo via erin condren

 (obviously my planner does not say Jason & Samantha…) The planner can be purchased here.

After doing quite a bit of browings in bookstores & online, I had come to the realization that I was not going to find a wedding planner that I liked. I searched high & low, but all I could find were:

– frou frou planners with WAY too much writing and too little space for filling in details. I don’t want to carry around some huge binder tied with a ribbon and covered in lace  in my purse every single day.

– basic notebooks with no help on the organization front – just simple blank pages. 

I knew that I wanted some combination of the two, something that would help me keep track of dates & appointments like a typical day planner, but with some wedding flair. This is EXACTLY why I fell in love with the Erin Condren wedding planner. It is totally customized – everything from the monthly calendars that are included in the planner (it’s not based on a calendar year, it starts from your month of purchase), to the personalized stickers & gift tags. I chose not to add a picture – I wanted something a little more discreet in case I had to pencil something in at work or something. 

4- The Stick

photo via thestick.com

Can be purchased here. The fiance gave this to me for my birthday after watching me fall in love with it over and over again at far too many race expos. I have been experiencing some serious IT band pain lately as a result of marathon training, and this little gem has been quite the lifesaver. It hurts so good, and I can definitely feel a difference when I use this after a run, and when I don’t.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

