Skip to content

Wedding Cake

April 18, 2012

Even before getting engaged, I had dreamed of getting my future wedding cake from Bredenbecks , an adorable bakery in Chestnut Hill, PA.

I don’t know what I love more, their adorable store front, or their delectable pound cake!

Lucky for us, we discovered that our venue works directly with Bredenbecks for their wedding cakes (a major selling point for the venue)!

When it comes to cakes, I am a proponent of taste over look, and so I knew from day one that i’d want a buttercream iced cake (no fondant allowed!).

We had our tasting this past weekend, and it was a blast. I walked in with one idea of how I would want our cake to look, and walked out with a totally different plan. I had originally thought that we’d want something like this:

texture

…something with texture, and a homemade look.

However, when I walked into the bakery and saw the stunning sleekness of the following cake (minus the floral details), I changed my mind. I didn’t realize that buttercream could look so SMOOTH!:

lovely

Needless to say, I was sold. After some discussion, we decided on an ivory buttercream frosted cake, with the beading detail above, and a coral ribbon wrapped around the bottom of each tier sitting in the “beading”. The ribbon will match the bridesmaids dresses. We also selected some very subtle champagne gold detailing for the top of each tier, to give it a little sparkle.

We’ll have 4 tiers of cake (supplemented by sheet cakes behind the scenes) to protect the structural integrity of the cake. We selected chocolate chip pound cake, red velvet pound cake, lemon pound cake, and sourcream pound cake to make up the tiers.

Our experience with Bredenbecks so far has been amazing, and I can’t wait to see the finished product (and eat it!).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

